The Empty Cup

You can’t pour from an empty cup. Take care of yourself first.

Self care is not selfish. It is a form of self-respect.

These words ring loud and clear for me as a mom to 3 boys, all who have special needs. I used to run myself ragged trying to meet everyone’s needs and in the process, jeopardized my own health and well being. It wasn’t long before I couldn’t give 100% of myself to my family because I couldn’t even function at 100% in my own body. My once-strong body was riddled with new health issues including depression, anxiety, hormone issues and weight gain, just to name a few. Not only had I failed my body, I had sabotaged my emotional and mental well-being. Not only was I falling apart, but so was my family. They needed me to be a the top of my game and I had done nothing but run myself weary. Sadly, it took some major tragedies in my life to awaken me to the fact that I had to put myself first in order to save my family.

Flash forward to the present. Over the past three years I have learned that there is no guilt in taking care of yourself. In fact, once I felt good, I could pour 100% of myself back into my family and give them everything they needed. It wasn’t a chore, it was a choice I could make and I could do it well. It took shifting priorities around and coming to terms with the fact that self care is not selfish at all. In fact, it is necessary for survival.

If you need a roadmap to get you back on track, I implore you to check out my online boot camp. Four weeks of learning to nourish your body through sound eating, simple at-home workouts and goal setting strategies. If you’re a mom to special needs kiddos like me, you are in the right place. In fact, you’re the one I had in mind when I first developed my online program. Workout anywhere, anytime and learn the science of eating well. You owe it to yourself and your family to nourish your body and mind!

Learn more or register by clicking here –> New Year, Better You Online Boot Camp

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

