Why Strength Training Should Be a Part of Your Wellness Routine

strengthtrainingOne of the biggest mistakes I made when I first started my health and wellness journey was not adding strength training to my routine. I didn’t want to look like a bulky bodybuilder and I figured that cardio and running were good enough to help me stay fit.

As months went by, however, I encountered bouts of mysterious fatigue, injuries and lack of progression in my running. I could not understand what I was missing. I then decided to make some changes and one of those was adding strength training to my routine. The results were astonishing. It only took a few weeks to realize I had found one of the missing links in my fitness journey. How had I overlooked such an important aspect to a healthy body for so long?

With strength training I became a faster runner, gained endurance on the trail, slept better at night and felt more energy overall. It’s really easy to get started and to keep the progression going. Here’s what you need to know…

Strength training benefits:

  • helps control weight-muscle tissue burns more calories than fat when your body is at rest
  • boosts stamina and balance-this is great for everyone, especially as we age
  • prevents injuries- especially important for runners and other athletes
  • can help manage chronic conditions- such as back pain, arthritis, obesity, heart disease and diabetes
  • no need to bulk up- building toned muscles can help you create a tight and lean physique, women especially do not need to fear that strength training will make them look bulky

Your Options:

The great news is that strength training can be done at home–no gym necessary! You should add 2-3 strength training sessions per week to see the above benefits.

  • Body weight: You can do many exercises with  no equipment. Examples include push-ups, squats and crunches. You can also incorporate these into high intensity style workouts to get maximum benefit!
  • Free weights: Dumbbells  and kettlebells are both excellent tools to train with at home. Make sure you choose the appropriate weight. You should be able to do 12 reps of an exercise, with the last few reps feeling very challenging. To progress, increase the reps or the amount of weight.

Don’t know where to start? Need some tips and demonstrations to help get you started? I can help you build an easy to follow, at-home strength training routine. Message me to set up a consultation today!

Leave a Reply

